Are you at risk?

24 May

these blacked eyed susans came up "volunteer"

Dr Jill Carroll spoke at my church on Sunday and the topic is haunting me. She spoke of the parable in Mark of the master and the talents that he gave to his servants.   The third servant was banished because he dug a hole and was too afraid to share his one talent. The other servants shared their talents in the world and doubled their efforts.

So the question is are you at risk?  She makes the point that we SHOULD be at risk….

It takes risk to go out into the world and share your talents. Whether it is love, an ability to write, sing, do athletics…. Whatever it is. You might not have really “risked” bringing it into the world. Letting spirit flow through you and express through you.

Dr. Carrol made the point that a lot of us, maybe even the majority of us, have been roughed up the last two years. That we’ve maybe pulled in and held back out of survival or protection  – because of money or housing problems, or loss of job or whatever. Where before that, we maybe were out there in the world living more largely.

And she just asks the question, “Are you at risk”, “Am I at risk”?

I am still meditationg on this. It’s pretty deep. I’m not sure I totally understand it.

But I know that I need to take more risks again. Get back out there – the job market and my money have taken a beating the past year and a half. But there is no one who can harm my soul. I need to get back out there for me.

This was only a temporay place of learning. I have learned much. I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

